tinkbastian

By tinkbastian

Dutch Specialty Bread 'Boffert'

Today I baked a typical old fashioned Dutch bread, a 'Boffert'. This bread stems from the time that not everyone had a oven. This bread is original steamed in a pan with a lid on it. My mom had an original pan and now they are back for sale in the specialty stores for an exorbitant high price.

I decided to try and bake a Boffert in my slow cooker as that also generates some steam.
A boffert is made raisins, but I wanted to give it a twist and use whatever I have in the pantry. If I think ahead of time that I want to bake one I soak the dried fruits in some brandy or cognac. :-)

However this time I used caramelized ginger, apricots and raisins. On the bottom of the slow cooker goes a mix of sugar and cinnamon that slowly caramelizes into a delicious crusty top. Because at the end of the 3 hours you put a chopping board on the slow cooker and turn it upside down, so the bottom becomes the top. It's so easy and the end result is YUM! :-)

ps: the rules say 1 photo a day. I cheated a bit. :-) Hope that's okay.:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.