election

I'm very glad I went to bed last night without watching the news or keeping my iPad on. Everyone I know who watched was stressed out of their minds today.

We had the largest voter turnout ever, in the midst of a pandemic. Biden received more votes than any president in history. We had massive youth voter turnout and volunteering. A host of Native American politicians ran and won. Yet another transgender politician has won office this election. 

That said, many are devastated because nearly half of the voting country opted to vote for a lying, bigoted, corrupt traitor, and they were hoping to have a solid denunciation of everything he stands for. Instead, more people voted for him this year than four years ago. I am not devastated, because I was already devastated when nearly half the voting country voted for him four years ago. I was devastated when 27 percent of the country approved of kidnapping children and putting them in cages. I wasn't hoping for redemption here. 

I'm devastated because we aren't going to win the Senate. With RBG gone, we needed to win the Senate, not only to help undo the damage wrought but to stack the court and undo the damage about to be done. 

The Supreme Court is hearing a case on LGBTI rights. When they are done, anyone will be able to discriminate as long as they claim a religious belief that calls for it. Slavery was justified with religion. Racism has been justified with religion. Beating wives and children is still justified with religion. Anti-semitism is justified with religion. I don't see a bottom to this slope. 

What we will experience won't be new. We've been here before.

Also, we left the Paris Accord today. Fortunately, we don't need the Senate to get back in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.