LesTension

By LesTension

SLATE-COLORED JUNCO

This is a Slate-colored Junco (Junco hyemalis); female. Lots of varieties of this bird, all the same species, but differing in color depending on where they are. This variant is typical of the NE and Great Lakes areas of North America.

I was at my car dealership having some recall work done yesterday...I don't do well just sitting in the waiting room doing nothing (especially since the media were all over elections results constantly repeating themselves) so I ventured outside with the D500 to see what I could find to amuse myself. I've been frequenting this place since 2009 and never knew there were 2 ponds behind the dealership. I found all sorts of things to photograph there...this Junco among them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.