From Munich Disco To Berlin Techno, London

First day of the second lockdown and it felt suitably dystopian. This morning could not have been more different to yesterday's glorious sunshine. It was thick with fog and, if anything, even colder than yesterday.
On the train journey into London I saw an extraordinary sight - a huge flock of birds like pitch black scimitars flew out of the heavy greyness and swooped, banked and pitched in front of my train carriage enveloping my view with pulsing wings - and then just as quickly they vanished like a magician's trick. By the time I got to work I was frozen and very grateful to get my strong coffee to kick start my strange day.
At lunchtime I decided to try and capture the odd, off centre, discombobulating feel of central London in lockdown 2.0. Today's main image is of a closed down, stripped out fashion shop very close to work - it had a real Blade Runner feel to it. The first extra image, "Skeleton Crew At Rest" is the type of image I could never have captured in the usual choking traffic of Piccadilly. The last extra " A Ladder Still To Climb" was taken on Regent Street. This worker was struggling to lift his unwieldy ladder and on a regular busy day could well of taken out a few pedestrians while swinging this through the air. With all the shops closed and an almost claustrophobic stillness in the atmosphere I felt lost in a a strange new, unique world that I will probably never experience again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.