MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

DANGER KEEP OUT

An early start again today, when I couldn't get back to sleep, I decided to get up at 10AM. I remembered that I've always wanted to see the remains of a ship called 'Amsterdam' which has been visible recently at low tide. It's wreck is literally two minutes drive, or ten during the rush hour, from where I live. Quickly checked the tide tables and discovered low tide was at 10.30AM. Washed, dressed etc, got in the car, arrived at the beach by 10.30. Needless to say, it was nowhere to be seen! This is because todays low tide was higher than the lowest, it's all to do with the moon or something. English Heritage have a nice pic of it HERE!

Another thing I'd wanted to shoot for a while now is a quarry on the outskirts of Bexhill where bricks are made. "The Bexhill Purple Multi is the new addition to the Bexhill Range from Ashdown, East Sussex." So I drove up to Highwoods car park and firstly wandered around the woods there. I had never ventured here before and whilst walking round the mile and a half blue route and suddenly saw where oldtownpaul shot this "Roots..." Obviously I copied the shot as it was stunning, but it's not for public consumption because that wouldn't be fair... even though mine is in colour and Paul has one of these old cameras that only shoots in black and white! The woods were beautiful, I chatted to several people and really enjoyed myself... the weather helped.

I love reflections in photographs, some that spring to mind are GirlMick's from a few days ago HERE!
Also, I love the subtle reflections that LondonSparrow has caught in the eye of this Falcon HERE (best viewed large).

So, over the road from the entrance to Highwoods car park is some fenced off woodland, littered with signs such as the one I tweeted a picture of earlier which says "QUARRY WORKINGS KEEP OUT". As I said in my tweet, signs like this are like a red rag to a bull for me. I climbed over the barbed wire fence, walked through the woods, and was rewarded with some lovely views - such as the one above. I was wearing a red hoodie, not the best disguise for tresspassing in (which got the adrenaline pumping) but I thought I could use that as an excuse if I did get caught by saying "I wouldn't deliberately tresspass wearing this would I?" Fortunately, I didn't get caught!

When I got back to the car and sat in the drivers seat I was struck with the headache from hell, I suppose the adrenaline masked it?

Then I took my car to get the puncture repaired... only to have my headache worsened... the puncture wasn't repairable as it was in the side wall! I also probably need two rear tyres as well (at least) to get it through the MOT which is imminent. One front tyre and two rears (the rears are bigger) would set me back in the order of £400 aaarrrggghhh!

So, whilst I thought about what to do with my car which is 14 years old I went shopping, my new diet starts tomorrow, having used up all the things I'm now not allowed to eat. A small bonus to this was if you spend over £30 (Sainsbury's) you could buy 'Skyfall' for £7 so I did! (Cheaper than the cinema!)

Anyway, back home, a quick edit to the above, type this out, take some tablets, I'm now going to laze on the sofa for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.