TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

A day of intense disappointment

Somehow the Orange One managed to retain a shred of hope in the election to the south, putting perhaps my disappointment in perspective. 

I am astounded by many things these days - and, following the wise advice of my wife, who told me she was sick of listening to the same conversation every day - I have held my counsel on many of the world's more egregious happenings. However, I will say this: the most stunning factor of the US election has been that several million MORE Americans voted for Darth Satsuma this time around than last time. 

My mouth opens in shock even as I type that.

However, let's come back to me. You would have thought I would have learned to read simple packages by now. I thought I was well beyond mistaking simple words. And yet. I ordered these convinced I was going to finally get a packet of my favourite orange cake-biscuits, Imagine my disappointment to find they were not an insurgence of Jaffa Cakes into the Canadian market after all - rather some sickly sweet dates. If only they had marked it clearly on the packaging.

It's rather like the Trump conundrum again. I mean, you vote in a maniacal racist misogynist with a sordid history of lying who may or not be married to his Russian contact and you expect a benign leader who'll get things done and spend at least 15 minutes a day not watching TV or tweeting. If only they had marked it clearly on the packaging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.