TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

The garlic lady cometh

Working with me can lead to despair, misery, frustration and radical decisions to change your life path. Some of my former colleagues have become teachers, footballers, barmen, divers, writers, scientists or politicians. Only one, as far as I know, has packed it all in to become a garlic farmer.

And thank God she did. Because Renée Giroux, my erstwhile boss at the Knowledge Management Unit of FCM International, has done me a massive favour. Mayo Hill Garlic is a wonder. We ordered about a year's supply of the Russian Red, the Siberian and the Spanish Roja (she tricked me there, I thought it was Spanish Rioja) and have been eating our way through them at a rate I would have deemed impossible. 

She stopped in to drop them off, and we spent a pleasant hour catching up and trying to remember why she fired me. She left with a gift of seed garlic, which we will plant after Thanksgiving. If you are in Canada and get a chance, note down the name and place an online order next spring. Brilliant stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.