LD 228 Free Kirk , Dunoon

I was in Dunoon all morning, firstly in my office for the first time for ages as I had to take part in an on line summit of the British Irish Council , chaired by the First Minister , and I decided the signal would be more stable there, though it has held up remarkably well at home over the past few months despite not being anything close to superfast.   

Then Cathleen and  I nipped in to the (socially distanced) exhibition being held in the Burgh Hall which features stunning medieval (and earlier) images and then had a light lunch in the (socially distanced ) cafe there.   

Walking back to my car I stopped to take this - a sad part of Dunoon's Argyll St and just along from both my office and the Burgh Hall.   Clearly though the Free Kirk continues in the area there is a big decline from earlier times and the building (as well as the notice board) bear witness to that fact.   

It is a sad change , even if you aren't a member or adherent or even of that faith because the presence of churches at the heart of our towns is very much part of what has made them what they are today.  This type of long term change , intensified by more rapid change from the pandemic, will lead to very different high streets in future.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.