Convicts

This is a voracious caterpillar of the the rather 'beautiful, pink' Spanish Moth Xanthopastis regnatrix. It's sometimes called the 'Convict Caterpillar', and for good reason... Check the *extra! The moths are native to our area and thankfully I don't often see their cats, which devour leaves of several bulb plants like my Crinum Lilies and Amaryllis. So I'm torn between allowing them to feed and ending their little lives. I've tried offering them to the birds by putting them on the tray feeder along with some leaves for them to munch on. No bird seems to want them as a snack. I also tried tossing them in our pond. The fish totally ignored them. Maybe I'll try offering them to the frogs! 
*lettuce worm update*...yes, the Tiny Green Worm(check the *extra) that I discovered on my salad the other day is still alive and apparently enjoying the lettuce I've been feeding it! 
***News Just Breaking! Joe Biden elected the 46th President of the United States! Now the challenge is to work on uniting our country. United We Stand!  Deep Breath! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.