More little boxes

I spotted this set of (occupied) beehives on a gentle drive to Waitomo on almost empty roads through enthusiastically rolling hills (more Scotland than Cotswolds). I'm at the youth hostel in Waitomo for the adventure bit of my trip (more tomorrow).

I discovered when I got here that I am an Old Person. Not only was one of the friendly young people in my dorm awed at my plans (honestly - they're not that adventurous) but she was also a bit appalled that I had a top bunk and had to climb a ladder to go to bed. She said she'd swap with me except that she'd damaged her knee caving. Better than not being offered a seat on the underground, eh!

Also (definitely a sign of antiquity) I've found myself thinking (but not saying, which I guess gives me a little more time till my dotage), 'Well, in my day...' as those around me tell me what they've been up to. Whereas we used to pay a couple of pounds (or shillings, as we knew them in those days) to climb a cathedral tower to get a view of the city, the young people here take guided tours across a live volcano (£100). Two days later they land by helicopter on Franz Josef Glacier then hike across (£200). Then they come here and wind down for a gentle cave trip (£60) before heading off for an aerial ropeway/zipwire trip through the canopy (£100). All brilliant but I can't imagine how much they've had to save to come here. As one of them said to me yesterday as she was kindly pointing out a (free) walk up to a pa (old Maori settlement) which she hasn't done, 'They call us the flashpackers.'

And now I've said it... Oh dear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.