Muddy path or a winter bourne?

I always forget that this path turns into a small stream after any significant rain.  I was out on my walk when the alert came through that Biden was confirmed.  What a relief for the world...it was fearful to contemplate the actions and probably even more the rhetoric of a second term Trump.   My WhatsApp and instagram burst into life with memes, screen grabs and videos expressing with joy and humour the reaction of my friends and colleagues, especially those in the US.  Most moving was the many postings of Seamus Heaney’s poem to which Biden had made a video .... 

History says, don’t hope
On this side of the grave.
But then, once in a lifetime
The longed-for tidal wave
Of justice can rise up,
And hope and history rhyme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.