Lockdown No2 - Day 4

Remembrance Sunday

Part of a letter sent by my grandfather to my grandmother in January 1919, when he was stationed in India. He fought at both Gallipoli and the Somme, but returned home safely, despite being wounded by gunshot twice during the five years he served for his country. He was one of the lucky ones...

With it being Remembrance Sunday, I decided to see what I could find online about my grandfather’s WWI service. As well as finding records of his wounding and medals on various websites, this letter was unearthed. I’d not seen it before and the three page letter makes very interesting reading. His love for my gran is very obvious, they were married once he returned to the UK, and he describes his Christmas dinner out in India in great detail. Maybe that’s where I’ve inherited my love of Christmas!

Take care, stay safe and well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.