Remembrance Sunday

I usually pay my respects on Remembrance Sunday at events involving aviation. Last year I went to North Weald to see the poppy drop Dakota leave for the south coast. Sadly this year the best I could do was to photograph this bike someone had decorated in High Wych. 

I've never captured a brimstone butterfly on this day before. Aristotle gave the butterfly the name psyche meaning soul. Many cultures believe that butterflies are the souls of the dead. Brimstones hibernate but if the weather is warm like today they will take to the wing, even in the depths of winter.

We saw the deer whilst walking at Lodge Farm. Something spooked them and they took off. The great variation of colour in our local fallow deer can clearly be seen in my image.

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.