Most mornings I dress in tatty, painty, muddy clothes and go out of my back door to work in the garden - today was moving more soil and transplanting a couple of plants. Then I go inside, put on ordinary, slightly cleaner clothes and go out of the front door for whatever needs doing in the public world - today was cycling to collect some tools then later going for a walk with the camera.

I already feel as if I am two people, depending on which way I'm facing, but today was even odder: I came inside from a couple of hours in the garden, did a quick change and as I stepped out of the front door, less than ten minutes later, it was raining. 

It reminded me of those quaint old weather-house barometers, where in good weather a woman comes out of one door and in bad weather she goes back in and a man emerges from an adjacent door. 

Is the weather controlling me or am I controlling the weather?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.