horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Swannin' Aboot

Just after 5 I noticed the sky was starting to redden, so made sure I could sprint out to see if I could grab it before it disappeared over Duddingston Loch. Juuuuust made it. Hopefully you'll forgive me the dual-image - I just couldn't decide between the abstract wings shot, and the flashed swan with the sunset in the background.

This one almost made the cut as well, but I thought three images in one might be pushing it.

This was what appeared to be the dominant male - swanning about (as it were), making sure everyone else was second in the queue. It had me forgetting my thumping headache (presumably caused by the office being greenhouse warm today) for a short while before the blessed relief of ibuprofen could kick in (and take care of the remnants of the pericarditis that thankfully hasn't kicked in as badly as the start of the year).

Biggest news of the day is that I bought an A1 sheet of black paper today, and some new pastels. I have a feeling my artistic ambition may outstrip my technical ability, but we'll see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.