simisue

By simisue

CAIRN

A CAIRN is a man made pile of stones. From pre-hisoric through modern times, they have been built for a variety of reason, all over the world.
They were often built as burial sights & could be simple stacked stones or a delicately, balanced interlocking stone design. In more recent days, they are often used as land marks or trail markers. As people pass by, they may add a stone. Some point in the direction the trail goes, which is helpful when 
the route is unclear, or if snow blurs the path..

I saw this CAIRN in a front yard as I was driving home.  I immediately turned around to take a photo of it.  I have seen them at labyrinths, &
on an open ridge top, near my house.  Each time, I pause & wonder if
there is a spiritual significance. 

There is a lingering air of mystery around them.....



  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.