Nat - Backside Feeble

Finally made it over to the 'secret warehouse' spot that everyone's been going on about. Fair play to the work Shenton and others put in to make it a worthwhile spot to skate, including Shenton welding this flatbar and attaching it to the platform to create a proper gap. Its already seen a proper session, but Nat put down his own version of a feeble across it, which fortunately I was on hand to capture for posterity.

From a technical point of view, this is one of the more difficult things I've had to shoot, it was a real stab in the dark. The light, even in the afternoon, was minimal, as the windows above were really quite dirty and opaque. I only had one flash and a cable, so I was at least able to position the flash away from the camera, in which I was ably assisted by Al, who allowed be to get maximum distance. This is combined with the fact that the fisheye lens I have isn't really that sharp wide open, so I wanted to stop it down at least a little. And of course you never really want to put the ISO up too high. In the end, this borrows quite heavily from experience of shooting Nat at Tamworth last time. I would have loved to have had two flashes and a stand so I could have played with the shadows more, but all things considered I'm pretty chuffed with how it turned out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.