hanging on

D has been immersed in his college work all day so I did the weekly shopping on my own for the first time since my op. It was fine, as the supermarket trolley is a bit like a Zimmer frame and I made sure that the bags weren't too heavy for lifting into the car. 

I met a few friends on my way round and it was lovely to have a chat, even if sometimes difficult to hear what people are saying with masks on. One friend and I were discussing what to do with our apple harvests - a lot of our cookers have gone to the cider makers but we still have plenty left. A few are still hanging bravely on the trees...we have one tree with a lot of eating apples which are beyond my reach and won't be shaken down - but there are always 5 or 6 blackbirds up there, feasting away, and I don't begrudge them their free meal.

I walked around the woods this afternoon as the light was fading - it's getting easier to negotiate uneven ground now that I have swapped the crutches for walking poles.

Off to light the fire now :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.