Border Tails

By Swannie

Driving into autumn.

Thank you for all the lovely comments on last night’s blip. My dad is, according to him, back to where he was before COVID.

Tonight’s blip is the back road to the A7 from the A72. I have taken to driving this way although it is not the best road and actually a few miles longer. The big plus for me is that it misses out Galashiels all together.

Now, I’ve been used to 20mph zones. The town centre in Maybole is 20mph, as is the town centre in Biggar, but thanks to this latest crazy trial by Scottish Borders Council, I’m losing the will to live! Most towns are now 20mph from start to finish, every single road. On today’s run, I passed through, Skirling, Peebles, Innerleithen and Walkerburn, so took this road to avoid also going through Clovenfords and Galashiels. I do sit at 20 as I have a black box monitor in the van, but I have often been overtaken while doing so!

And don’t get me started on the tailgating HGVs on the A7 that should be doing 40, but pass me when I’m sitting at 50!

Sorry, just needed a wee rant!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.