Tiny Tuesday

JDO is hosting Tiny Tuesday this month and has given us free rein regarding the weekly themes.

I'm busy working on a Photoshop project which involves Douglas Adams's "Hitchhikers' Guide to the Galaxy" books, for a camera club competition . In case you're not familiar with the stories, one of the characters is called Ford Prefect. Well of course I'm having to incorporate a photo of a Ford Prefect car. Knowing that I'm a fan of the books, my Editor once bought me a second-hand toy "Matchbox" Ford Prefect model which is pretty tiny (only about 4cm long) so I've been photographing it for my project and thought I'd use it for today's blip.

The model car is actually a light khaki colour but I thought I'd "paint" it a more exciting colour for my blip. It's past its first flush of youth so although I've given it a new paint job I'll tag it for this week's Derelict Sunday challenge too (hosted by Marlieske).

I remember in my youth, in the early 60s, being given a lift a few times in a friend's Dad's Ford Prefect car. My lasting memory of it is of the windsceen wipers, which were powered by the engine vacuum, rather than by an electric motor, so their speed varied dramatically according to how hard the engine was working. Interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.