Geoglossum fallax

Deceptive Earth tongue.

Another in my apparently common yet new to me series.
(& yes, I think they look like little triffids)

These can be mis-identified by people as Dead Man's Fingers - but these appear on rough pasture whilst DMFs appear on rotting wood. They also look quite different in detail. These have a pronounced (to the eye, doesn't photograph well) longitudinally indented fertile body above a round stem, which makes them look like (you guessed it) tongues.

Another support walk today (4 a week till Lockdown is over). A very fit participant so we went much further, but ended up doing a fair few miles on lanes - I'd forgotten the joy of pounding concrete, feet up this evening.

for those of you that asked:
My radio interview about the supported mental health walks during lockdown went out today.
It can be found between 13.17(ish) & 13:24 here on BBC Radio Cumbria

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.