Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Victory and Sacrifice

Today was a Bearsden day. I passed Bearsden Cross war memorial, which my kids will testify, I always point out and appreciate. I reckoned today was an ideal day to snap that as my blip. I'd get it on the way home to Edinburgh.

Many years back, around when I graduated I think, when I was back home at my parents briefly after uni, I looked up the details of the statue. The sculptor's name has not stayed with me but the title of the work has - Victory and Sacrifice.

I'm no big fan of the glorification of war and don't make a big show of Rememberance Day but do admire this statue everytine I pass it and think of those who made the sacrifice for the victory.

It is beautiful and poignant and not sentimental. It shows Sacrifice dying in the arms of Victory. It shows the price paid and yet is a beautiful work too. Not a common thing.

Must go look up the name of the sculptor.

Anyway, I observed the minute's silence in the car, via the radio, en route to seeing my mammy and dad.

Was good to see them. Mainly an IT support visit but a few other tasks were thrown in.

Mixed up use of the word 'home' above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.