Igor

By Igor

I think it’s going to work out fine

I didn’t really imagine I’d Blip for one year when I started, let alone six.  There have  been a few gaps over the past year or so, but I’m still here.  And so are you.  I’m thankful that Blip is a global community.  Despite our national and cultural differences, we are all much the same.

This past year has been momentous - on a personal level as well as globally.  In January we moved into our new house with high hopes for a simpler, stress-free future.  Covid-19 changed all that.  I’ve learned to stop complaining about the things I can no longer do (OK - in truth, that’s still a work in progress) and concentrate on the things I can do.  

Since we first moved in I’ve had to move the car to a car-park somewhere in the town at around 7.00am each week-day morning - come rain or shine - to allow the builders access to the site.  What started out as a major pain in the rear has been transformed as I‘ve walked home, by the unexpected skies above the Common.

I’ve seen sunrises, mists and cloud formations that look other-worldly. I’ve watched skeins of geese, heard skylarks - and one morning - a face-to-face with a large fox.   As lock-down progressed, what started out as a chore has become a vital part of my mental and physical well-being.  I’m really lucky to live here.

Making music with my friends has changed.  What we’ve lost playing live has been replaced by virtual performances.  And for me, the unexpected challenge  - and fun - of trying to put pictures and music together.  Six years of Blip has given me an archive of images that I never expected would have a life beyond a posting each day.

My friend Neil has made a recording of ‘I think it’s going to work out fine’ (Ry Cooder) and I’ve made a video to go with it.  The images are a snapshot of Lockdown, showing things we’ve all probably missed doing - and will one day get to do again.  The tune always makes me smile and I love Neil’s playing of it.  And I like the sentiment.  I dare to believe it now.

Thank you for being there, Blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.