Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

Just don't call it a boxing glove...

...got a call from the wee fella's nursery saying there'd been an accident. Some building blocks fell onto his finger at tidy-up time; the senior staff were having a look to see if he should go to hospital. I had an "admin" day until 4, so I wandered down (thinking, to be honest, that it'd be a storm in a teacup).

Turns out I was wrong.

I realised this when I saw V, senior nursery nurse and a right "canny granny". This isn't a lady given to overreaction.

He must've got the corner of a large block falling from some height onto the end of his middle finger; it's a bit of a mess. Up to kids A&E where we were dealt with in a fashion which was both caring and efficient. He's in tomorrow to get it washed out under general anaesthetic. I think Mrs & Miss Geek are like me- we're all more upset about it than he is. His sister was incredibly mother-hen like at dinner...I'm pretty sure she'd have pre-chewed the food form him if she'd thought it would help.

A colleague has very kindly agreed to cover my shift tomorrow, so I can be with the wee fella. I am, of course, extremely grateful.

The only thing from the hospital? They kept referring to the bandage mitt as a "boxing glove"...he's currently very fond of the boxing on Wii Sports, which he used to call "Bom-Bom Man" and now simply refers to as "The Punching". We needn't have feared, though, as he was very careful to protect that hand.

Sleep well, wee fella.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.