Nibbled Eye

I found yet another nature reserve in my local area today, Barossa Nature Reserve. It's owned by the MOD, and actively used for training by the nearby Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst - but as a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI) among other ratings is managed by Surrey Wildlife.  Though the only wildlife I saw today were soldiers in full khaki on what looks like a map orientation exercise.  They were running as individuals, and judging by the way they were panting and some even walking as they passed, I would guess they were early on in their training and not up to full fitness levels!



The Autumn colours were still glorious, and I was blessed by some clear skies and sunshine (extra). However, as always I kept my eye out for any unusual fungus, and spotted this one on the forest floor.  I believe it is one of the Amanita family, the same family as the iconic red Fly Agaric, but this one has not grown to full size as something has eaten away at it, leaving what looks like and eyeball!  One for Marlieske's Derelict Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.