Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Take me to Andomeda

A quick lap around the headland and the harbour Saturday morning. Another lovely day as far as the weather is concerned.

On the Covid-19 front it's far from lovely. In Asturias another 130 hospitalisations yesterday and 23 deaths. Our main local hospital, Cabueñes, may run out of intensive care beds in the next two or three days.

It seems strange now to be able to have a nice walk on a sunny morning with everything apparently normal, apart from the closed bars and cafes and the masks, while in reality we are surrounded by a battle royale with the front lines very nearby in the local hospitals. My heart goes out to all those health service workers as well as those struck down.

On a brighter note, I finally ordered the bits and pieces for my an astrophotography experiment. In short my idea is to have the camera and a mobile phone sharing a bracket fitted on top of my tripod. I'll then adjust their positions until they point exactly at the same distant object. Once they're aligned I'll search for my target object using the Google Sky Map app which will then direct me too it. Once I have followed its directions and the phone is centred on the target my camera should be as well. Plan B is to learn my way around the night sky, but that will take a little longer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.