lifeanawthat

By colibaby

Baking/Cooking Day

I bought The Clever Guts recipe book maybe a year ago, ("the definitive toolkit for bringing your gut back to optimal health") and so far have only made the smoked mackerel and kale kedgeree (twice), which was nice.

This week I had a proper look though the book and post-its'd the chosen recipes , made a shopping list and came home with things like buttermilk, celery, goats cheese and raw Apple cider vinegar, all of which I've eaten but never cooked with before.

So the muffins at the front are sour cream and seaweed (surprisingly tasty though could do with a bit more parmesan, but maybe therein lies the problem, I can always put the case for some more cheese!) and there's beef and orange stew with mushrooms in the slow cooker (no garlic! I couldn't believe it).

The cakes at the back are just plain fairy cakes (special request from Miss H who is home for a few days to be pampered), with unrefined icing sugar topping. Back during lockdown icing sugar was like hen's teeth in the supermarkets and I happened to grab the last box in a local community store, I quite like the caramel colour, though it doesn't taste very different from the bright white kind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.