Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

York Place New Cycle Infrastructure

200 blips. A shot of the Edinburgh New Town (built 18th century, I think?) adapting and modernising for the 21st century. I was thrilled the other week when I realised York Place was getting a dedicated cycle lane. Really made me feel welcome, like I was supposed to be there. Made me feel safer too, a good thing as getting round the roundabout at the far end of the picture, at the top of Leith Walk on a bike was, to say the least, hairy. Today I discovered a cycle space has been carved into that roundabout. No longer a need to battle the traffic. Very nice. I hadn't stopped when cycling so no shot. If memory serves, however, the reason I stopped to take the above was cause the cycle path runs out after a block. If it wasn't that spot, it was soon after. There were cones out so I am hopeful there are works still to be done and the embedded cycle path within pavement and road will continue. We can but hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.