Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sweet Phoebe

A lazy effort today - sorry to say that I didn't venture out of the house and spent far too much time sleeping.  For some reason, I was tired when I woke up this morning so after some tea and breakfast, I went back to bed and slept another 3 hours.  And I still feel tired!

Fortunately, Phoebe took up position by the back deck door where she was watching squirrels. This allowed me to get down on the floor on my belly and get an eye-level view.  She's a bit camera shy and it's very hard to get her to look at the camera so this was the best I could do.  Not like Charlie who isn't the least put off by the "big eye."  Phoebe is 13, considered a senior cat.  She is still full of life, though, even if she spends much of her day napping (which, come to think of it, sounds alarmingly familiar!)  We got her when she was six months old.  She'd been in a shelter since someone found her along a busy highway as a small kitten, so she was very timid and fearful.  I've always wondered what sort of person dumps a tiny creature out to fend for itself?  When I think of how sweet and loving she is, how much she's enriched our lives, I have to just wonder...

The US recorded over 184,000 new Covid cases yesterday and we've also hit another record for hospitalizations.  Covid is the third leading cause of death in our country in 2020, behind heart disease and cancer. In NJ, 3,399 new cases were recorded yesterday with 1,909 people hospitalized in our state.  And Tweedledum played golf and raged against the election process.  

Please wear a mask and stay safe.  And don't forget to be kind - this is a very stressful time for all of us and acts and words of kindness can make a big difference in someone else's life right now.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.