JoyF6

By Rosina

Refugees

On Mondays I go with a maternal health team to a village for refugees high up in the mountains. It was so cold there this week. I don't know how they're going to survive when winter arrives. They are so poor but so generous. They insisted we stay for lunch and had killed and cooked one of their roosters for the occasion and gave me a huge pumpkin to take home with me!

There are so many pregnant ladies there and several will be having babies when their last ones are less than a year old. Some don't see a doctor at all because they can't afford the trip into the city or pay for a dr when they get there.

I had such a feeling of the senselessness of what's happened to them: isis arriving in 2014, causing total chaos and devastation; now isis semi-defeated but they have left so many thousands of lives in their wake in misery and hopelessness. The world has moved on but not the lives of so many victims.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.