Life Savors

By osuzanna

Northern Cardinal

....doing his best duck imitation.

It seems I will be doing a lot more backyard bird shots for the near future as the cold weather is starting to settle in, there are fewer opportunities for excursions as this virus rages on.  

I met an old friend and colleague for a walk at RedGate Park this morning. We hadn't seen each other in almost a year so it was great to have a catch-up.  We both wore masks and kept our distance and of course we were outdoors.  It is interesting how everyone's definition of their "isolation" differs.  That was the first thing we each inquired about and I told her that I don't go to any stores, see no one other than my husband indoors, and pretty much assured her that she couldn't get the virus from me as I have no opportunity for exposure.   She works part-time from home and says she remains very isolated but upon further discussion, I found that her adult daughter lives with them and she goes out with friends all the time. My friend goes for haircuts and coloring (all of which I have given up), goes to the grocery store (ours are delivered) and they even flew to Maine in August. I don't judge her for any of that as we all have to make our own choices regarding risk, but I realized very quickly that I had best keep my mask on and keep distant. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.