Counting down

I'm a bit hesitant to go on long walks at the moment as I don't want to be too far away from MrsW. So a quick stroll to the river and back was my limit today and a shot of a local cormorant. This is about the closest I can get to a cormorant with my camera. Unlike many of the 'twitchers' around here I don't have an enormous lens and cormorants are always alert. 
Cormorants are sharp hard working birds and they are also numerate, at least up to the number 7. You may already know this story but it is something I've witnessed on the Li River at Guilin China. Many of the fishermen there use cormorants to catch fish for them. The fishermen tie a cord around the neck of the cormorant to prevent it from being able to swallow the fish and are thus able to retrieve the fish for themselves. However to keep the cormorant cooperative they take the cord off after the 7th fish so that it can eat the 8th one. If they don't take the cord off of the cormorant's neck it will simply go on strike and refuse to dive for another fish. So they can definitely count to 7. 
Anyway I know Li River cormorants can count but it is always possible that Chinese cormorants are more advanced in the maths department than our local ones. I have yet to see it happen on the Great Ouse River as there are many fishermen and many cormorants around here but no cormorant fishermen. Maybe a hole in the market I could exploit?   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.