Meader; 1 frame at a time

By jasonmeader

Pier 60; An HDR Perspective

Today I decided to give the HDR experience a try.

For those not familiar with the concept, HDR is an acronym for high dynamic range. To achieve this effect the photographer will bracket (a series of exposures above and below 18% grey - a meter reading of 0) the subject to gain a collection of exposures that will then be merged together to form a final piece.

Admittedly, this is a practice HDR as well as my very first real attempt at the concept. For this shot here, I will wait for better weather conditions and preferably less passerby (reduction of ghosting) before trying it again and for my final piece. Since this was a trial run, I figured that the conditions wouldn't matter all too much since I was just getting a feel for the process itself, especially the computer side of things. I'm not entirely sure I did everything correctly but it didn't turn out too bad.

I've also posted a color version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.