... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Half Term Hordes

This is a panorama formed from three landscape photographs: this afforded me a more wideangle perspective than I could have achieved just by taking a portrait photograph...

I've been feeling a bit under the weather, and this photo proves it... I must be sick: this is an NHM photo featuring people (and lots of them)! The museum becomes absolutely gridlocked during half term: the dinosaur gallery develops a queue so long that barriers are put out to form a zigzag snake like the queues in theme parks. I really can't believe it makes an enjoyable outing: long queues, and so many people everywhere that it is tricky to move let alone see the exhibits. Hum, I suppose that people visit when they can, but I think that coming during half term would only put people off ever visiting NHM again.

I was torn about what to blip, but this one captures the feel of the day best: I got to hide away in the herbarium, but every time that I needed to go anywhere, I found myself feeling rather cowed by the crowds. At least the top (by the Sequoia) remained quieter (as usual) since people rarely have the stamina to head up so far!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.