Bits and pieces.

I am making a stained glass window for my kitchen. It will be tall and thin.
Usually a design would be done and then the glass cut however that's not what I want to do. I have loads of bits of glass that I want to utilise and incorporate into the design. This means I can roughly design something but the design needs to be fluid enough to fit all my bits in. The pieces in the picture are from a half made terrarium that I never finished. It remains to be seen if I can fit them in somewhere. I have literally hundreds of pieces of glass.

Incidentally the pieces in the picture uses a technique called copper foiling where the glass is edged with copper foil then soldered together. It gives a much more fine result than lead work. I will be leading a lot of the window as it is much more forgiving and the glass doesn't need to be cut so precisely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.