Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2154. Transgender Day of Remembrance

I took this photo almost two years ago at Ravensbruck Concentration Camp.  I remember sending it to my eldest offspring as it depicted the treatment of transgender, lesbian and gay people under the Nazis.

Their treatment was horrific and no different to the treatment given to jewish people and many other groups such as political opponents of the regime and those from the traveller community.

I think it is important to remember this alongside the remembrance thoughts already part of this month...lest we forget.....and ensure that history never repeats itself.

One in five people from within the LGBTQ community experienced hate crimes because of their sexual orientation or gender identity in 2018 (when this photo was taken) according to Stonewall.  As the parent of a non-binary offspring I can confirm that this is not an unusual or isolated experience as they have experienced discrimination in all aspects of their life at some point....it simply can never become acceptable.

I was looking for a photo to upload today to mark Transgender Day of Remembrance and thought it was appropriate.

The extra which is my awesome eldest offspring sporting their new mask that I sent them a couple of days ago!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.