Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Rust, Smut, Mildew & Mould

Rust, Smut, Mildew & Mould - sounds like a Victorian solicitors but is in fact the title of an intriguing book by Mordecai Cubbitt Cooke published in 1886. Mordecai Cooke wonders at the microscopic life that "lies about our feet". I haven't got into rust, smut or mildew but this morning I found another intriguing and beautiful slime mould. I haven't been able to identify this one (does anyone recognise it?). It seems to be on the move but I can't decide which way its going - is it passing over the birch leaf or is it moving onto the leaf? I suspect the former as almost all the slime moulds I've ever found  have been on decaying wood (the exception being Fuligo septica which I've seen on grass and moss). The underlying wood is a branch from a conifer - the first time I've seen a slime mould on a conifer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.