Jostijn

By Jostijn

Zwermers

These people are the Zwermers (swarmers). They just performed their show Pan~//Catwalk at MU in Eindhoven.

Last September, during the 'Kaapstad' Festival in Tilburg, I saw their show on the streets. The performance is about finding your identity through the clothes you wear. In the performance, the players remain the same, only the clothing changes. Sometimes the show lasts 30 minutes, sometimes 70. And they change outfit about 1x per minute.

When I saw that performance, I got the idea to photograph all the outfits in front of a white screen and last March I was able to realize that. I made posters and gifs of the result. Check their website: https://www.zwermers.nl/en/.

Last month the work was visible in video form in MU (museum for modern art in Eindhoven) and we also took pictures with the audience present. Here you can see the new video:
https://www.theselfdesignacademy.nl/en/work/zwermers/

Today was their last show for the time being. The performance has grown enormously in versatility because Paul (2nd on the right), Inez (2nd on the left) and Wouter (violinist, off screen) have spent months researching how the show can be improved. I also took photos of almost all new shows, the counter in Lightroom is now at 4500 photos. The day before yesterday they played this version too, with six people. It gives a totally new dimension to the performance.

I am extremely proud that I was able to experience and record this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.