Pareidolia

Heavy fog all day. I have lived five years with this particular view, and until today had not seen the pareidolia (a word I learned from Ceridwen) directly across from me. This morning it seemed to be an enormous emoji, waving to me through the fog. I am waiting for my Covid-19 test result. Quite sure it will be negative, but I need confirmation of that. Am self-quarantined till then.

We had heavy fog all day. I love going out to photograph in the fog, but I didn't have the energy, and... as I said, self-quarantined. Instead I tried listening to a few podcasts and fell asleep repeatedly. Must have slept 6 hours through the day. 

Aching to go out in the fog, I thought of Arachne's poem:

Clouds
in London
eclipse the eclipse,
over Ebbsfleet 
desaturate the waiting room,
in Lille
turn the glass roof pewter,
in Brussels
I don't know; I am in a tunnel, running,
in Liege
fall, engrot* the industry,
beyond
slump low over fields
damping the turbine blades
shrouding the power plants,
in Bonn
at last
lift
expose the exhausted sun.

*engrot, she explains, "is a home-made verb from the noun 'grot' which the dictionary defines as INFORMAL BRITISH: Rubbish, dirt, grime. Also: filthiness, grottiness. Liège was one of the most important industrial centres in Europe, particularly in steel-making...."

Thanks to you all for the well wishes and the good cheer. I'm sure this is allergy, but it is behaving a little differently from usual, so I'll be sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.