Zamidong

By Zamidong

Shattered Sky

This photo was taken on my trip with group of friends to Warwick Castle.

I visited this castle once during my first year of university but then at that time I only had my kit lens (Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS) and still a beginner in photography.

This time round I have more lenses with me, filters, and more knowledge of photography like how light works and such.


Luckily it was a clear day after a week of cloudy, dull days. I remembered I haven't visited this one spot at Warwick Castle during my first visit, which is the hill top. Reached to the top of the hill, the sun was shining so bright and so I took a shade behind a leafless tree at the edge of the hill. I looked at the branches of the tree and thought of how a shattered glass looked like.

Suddenly I got the idea to shoot a picture with the concept of "Shattered Sky" using the branches of the tree. To make the branch looked more black in colour like how shatters would normally look like, I covered the light source (the sun) behind the branches so that the branches wouldn't get a direct light and thus, getting this photo.


Camera: Canon EOS 600D
Lens: Tamron SP AF 10-24mm F3.5-4.5 Di II
Filter: Hoya Circular Polariser

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.