Woodland Sunrise

I like this time of year, the sun is just rising when I walk the dog. Mist and frost created a magical scene through the wood this morning.

Arriving at Harry Stocracy's House is also magical in an Alice in Wonderland sort of way. (Continuing the events of my weekend away)
Driving through the large gates and up the long drive, the Victorian pile reveals itself only after the final curve. Reaching up to the huge door knocker it felt as if too much of the miniaturising mushroom had been eaten and the feeling continued when the door was eventually opened by the latest Mrs Harry. I stepped into the imposing hall where the walls of the stairwell are hung with Harry's ancestors.
"Hello" she said. "You are in the yellow room, at the top of the stairs on the right. Do have a bath and dinner is at 8."

The yellow room is magnificent, my whole cottage could fit in it. The bathroom has the original monstrous cast iron bath with giant taps and shower attachments. I ran a bath, climbed in and soaked a while before realising it would be a struggle to extract myself from its depths. But fortunately, by emptying the water first, I managed.

There are two doors into the bathroom, one from the yellow room that i had used, the other from a corridor on the other side where there are other bedrooms. While lying on the bed, wrapped in the largest, softest of towels, I heard the other door into the bathroom open.
"Hello" I called.
"Hi" came the response. "I'm looking for towels, is that you?"
Not quite sure who 'you' was referring to, I said, "No this is Amanda"
"Ok" came the reply and the door closed.

I got dressed for dinner (formal wear) and as I walked down the stairs Harry Stocracy appeared, just home from a day's hunting.

"Amanda, hello, come, follow, we'll talk"
I followed him upstairs to the second floor, while he related his day.
"I must have a bath, come along"
Harry's bathroom looks remarkably like a sitting room with a sofa and armchairs - and a huge freestanding clawfoot bath as the centrepiece.
"Run the bath while I sort my clothes for this evening. Very deep and very hot"
He stripped off and bathed, talking non stop while I sat on the sofa.
"Scrub my back for me, please"
He dressed and we went downstairs to meet the other guests, while Mrs Harry made the final preparations for dinner.

There were 20 of us for dinner, a very mixed bag.
"Amanda, you must meet Eddie, remember I told you all about him."
"Hello Eddie" I said smiling.
"Amanda, good to meet the rest of you. Your feet are divine!!"
"So, it was you that came into my bathroom!"

Harry, had forgotten to tell me one piece of information earlier in the week - Eddie was there with his girlfriend for the weekend!!

After dinner, served by the butler with a sassy jacket and white gloves, the carpet in the drawing room was rolled back and there was dancing.

Much later, as some guests left for home, one slipped his business card into my hand and asked me to get in touch. The remainder of us made our way to our rooms.

A day with more excitement than I usually have in a whole year. month.

I have yet to contact Mr Business Card - but maybe tomorrow....


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.