Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Steeple

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve been down to the nature reserve and the river, so I thought that would be a good plan for a Sunday walk. 

I probably would have made more of a day of it, but having a rather awkwardly timed noon kick off Everton game on the TV meant it was getting on for two before I got out. Still, that was enough to get an hour of the sunshine and also to enjoy that late afternoon light. And I always have a bit more of a spring in my step when my team has won. 

There was little about in the reserve or on the river. Lots of Dunnock on the feeders and the ubiquitous Robin and Blackbird.  I continued along the river to Esholt and was returning along Cunliffe Lane when this view opened up along the valley to the west. This is a long lens version and I still haven’t got myself triangulated enough to work out which church the steeple belongs to, several miles up river. 

At this point a Cormorant and a Grey Heron flew overhead, to add to the wildlife interest. And then when I was crossing the golf course toward home I came across a screeching Kestrel which was determined to maintain roosting rights to a large oak, despite two crows trying to evict it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.