karisfitch

By karisfitch

Impressed by Weakness

Applying for medicine has become a bit of a money-making scheme...every year people pay hundreds of pounds for courses preparing them for interviews, UKCAT etc... Which is a shame, and unjust really, that people from lower income homes would be disadvantaged when it comes to getting a place. Queen’s have started doing a Zoom “preparation for interview” course for upper sixths around the country, particularly those who can’t afford to go to a privately run one.

So today I got to interview 2 lovely 17 year olds, and ask them lots of challenging questions! They were both really impressive - have somehow found the time to acquire a whole accolade of achievements and experience! Yet the answer that impressed me the most by far, was when one of them was asked the question, “What is your greatest weakness?” and responded, “Where do I start...I have so many!!”

I think the reason that I found his answer so impressive, is because I really struggle to admit mine - even to myself. I would much rather pretend they aren’t there. It feels safer to believe that grace isn’t totally free, but partly earned. But deception isn’t the kind of life into which God calls us. Truth is.

And the truth is that I am much more selfish than I like to let myself believe. And much more proud. Which ironically, keeps me from receiving grace, when I believe that I am somehow entitled to it.

And that hurts the people around me, too. Earlier on in the week, a friend came to me in tears because of the stress of feeling like she wasn’t a perfect friend. Because everyone around her gave her the impression that they had it all together, all of the time. How lonely and terrifying it must be, to feel like the only imperfect person on the planet - when in reality, not one of us is without our struggles!

How much safer it is really, to belong to the God who searches the depths of our hearts, and remains committed to loving us despite all that He finds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.