SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Fox’s Pulpit - holy well?

I think I’ve said it before... I feel thoroughly jaded with the lakes at times. Today was definitely one of those. I thought I’d head out for a decent walk and this is one of those times of year when it is usually pretty quiet. I ended up driving the length of Ullswater and eventually right through the whole length of the lakes and out the other end. Every available spot was parked on, car parks, lay-bys, verges. I gave up. Even the forecast seemed to have gone askew and the 5% rain seemed closer to about 55% with hefty showers merging. Hurumph ...
What to do if you’re in a grump ...?
The solution was to follow up a well, of course.
A while back I’d read about a well at Fox’s Pulpit. Although I’ve been there before a few times I was unaware of the well.
More of a boggy patch at the base of the ‘pulpit’ and I suspect it would have been handy for all the worshippers congregating there. It is certainly a significant site and on the route of the old Roman road and drovers routes, not sure it’s holy as such but hopefully freespiral will let it in!

http://www.english-lakes.com/foxs_pulpit.html

Then I just found somewhere nice and quiet to stomp before heading home and dug up some potatoes to make my annual Janssons’s Temptation which is always satisfying with my homegrown spuds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.