Spring comes to West Street

Sunshine had brought out these three young women and their babies (one still to be born). I asked them if I could take their picture. The pregnant one in the middle demurred but her friends persuaded her (sort of).

Having babies is one of the few career options for girls here if they don't go on to higher education or find a scarce job. Recently I asked a young man who, at 24, is between the ages of my two sons, how old his little one was (I'd heard a baby when I'd telephoned.) To my amazement he said he and his wife had three, and the eldest was 8. Do the maths.
(They could become grandparents in their 30s...)

This part of West Street (my One Street) is known as the Golden Mile, although neither golden nor a mile, and I blipped another bunch of young women (maybe some the same?) here once before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.