Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Eucalyptus

In the past we've done the return walk along the coastal footpath from Gijón, via La Providencia, to the Playa de La Ñora at the eastern limit of the Gijón municipality, to which we are confined.

I thought it might be a route we could to this weekend given the good weather forecast. But I also thought it might be very congested with hundreds of people doing the same, given that it's one of the most accessible and scenic footpaths out of Gijón. So I had the idea of starting fairly early (by our standards) and doing it in reverse. On Google maps I found what looked like a suitable car park near the Playa.

It turned out M couldn't go on the Saturday, so I took the opportunity to go myself to check the car park and make sure it gives access to the coastal footpath and. at the same time, try out a couple of my newly acquired old Pentax manual lenses.

It was busier than I'd expected, although I shouldn't have been too surprises.

It turned out that the car park is fine. It has an adjacent picnic area and a path connecting it to the main coast path. So then I walked down to the nearby viewpoint (mirador) and had a practice with the lenses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.