PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

My Pukeko

I'm certain that there will have been many better images of Pukeko, but this is mine and I love it.

We went along Russell Road today. This is the long, long way round by road to Russell, which I mentioned when saying that the alternative used by virtually everyone is the car ferry. We only went on it, as we knew of a café and gallery way out on high along this road. It was indeed a long way and very twisty and tortuous, as it clung to the cliff edge. We never thought we would get there, but we did and had a lovely lunch.

On the way we saw some Pukekos in a field and I managed to get to them and take a few photographs. They were a fair way off and moving quickly, so I was very pleased to find I had managed to get this picture. I have cropped this quite a lot, but you can still see a little of the deep blue underparts , the white under the tail, the bulky red bill and the long claws. I love the way they stalk along in a very haughty way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.