jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Playpark

Met up with Hayley and her family this afternoon at a playpark, Bean was little more than a cloud of dust as he ran off to play with the kids, and Bear had fun discovering the climbing frame. He wore jeans for the first time today and I was honestly a bit worried that I'd lose him because I'm not conditioned to look for tots in jeans. He usually wears joggers for comfort when he's in the wrap. He looked like a proper little dude! And I did lose him, briefly, but not because of the jeans: I waited by the slide to propel him back towards the stairs after he came down, and most of the time he got to the stairs and climbed straight back up. But one time he spotted a scooter tucked under a buggy and wandered straight past the steps to investigate - I only realised when he didn't appear at the top of the slide! Oops. He decided going down feet first on his tummy was the best way. Not for safety (although that's how he's been taught to get down off things), but because unlike going down on his bottom where his feet kept making him stick, he can actually slide down on his tummy!

We had a ride on the little train around the lake, and both boys enjoyed waving at people. Then to the cafe for a slice of cake and a kids portion of chips between us. That's all I had money for but even a kids portion was more than the boys wanted so I was glad I'd not been able to get a bigger portion.

Home via the supermarket and we made a lady laugh in the cereals aisle when Bean declared one cereal was cat biscuits and didn't want them. I said I wanted them, and if they looked like cat biscuits at least we knew Bear would eat them!

I think we've got dinner sussed now. We start with pudding! I got potatoes and sausages cooking when we got home and then got us some icecreams to eat. Bean ate all his, AND then all his sausages and half his potato, and Bear shared my icecream and then ate all his sausage too plus some mash. If we go straight for the savoury stuff they are too tired and hungry by then. But if we have suitable sized portions of "pudding" first, they aren't so hungry and have a little more energy to eat the savoury stuff! Winner! They were still both shattered by bedtime though. Absolutely worn out, bless them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.