....We Few, We Happy Few

By paul1332

The Day The Music Died

I’m old enough to remember when Marc Bolam died. I read about his mini hitting a tree. I also remember hearing the news that Elvis had died. It would be some time later before I was privy to the exact details.

Whilst these deaths were notable, they didn’t exactly stop me in my tracks. I mean Elvis was 42! I know not exactly ancient but to my tender years, enough of an innings.

Now fast forward to this day in 1991. I received the news that Freddie had died in a way I’d not previously experienced in the passing of a celebrity. Queen were my band. I was there in ‘84 & ‘86. Foolishly deciding that I would give Live Aid a miss & watch on TV.

I used to drive mum balmy with the playing of The Prophet’s Song way too loud. Loved shocking our youth group leaders with the playing of Get Down Make Love. I would preach to one and all how Queen’s Greatest Hits was exactly that. No filler to be found anywhere.

So the news on this day in 1991 did affect me. To answer Don Maclean’s question. I do
remember if I cried.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.