Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

He gets a name...

In Chinese tradition (certainly in the villages of the New Territories), there is a Lantern Ceremony to welcome the newborn boys into the village, and to add them to the family tree.

The Lantern (or naming) ceremony is around a week after Chinese New Year, but depends on the lunar calendar (as does CNY). The boys born are added at the beginning of the following CNY.

I know it seems sexist that it's only the boys, but this is a tradition that has happen in the Tang village since 900AD, when the Tangs first migrated from China to Kam Tin in the New Territories.

I am the 29th generation of Tang on the family tree, so my baby boy (and of course all my children) are the 30th generation. In 2015, there is a festival that happens every ten years, so I will ensure the whole family are there, as all the Tangs from Kat Hing Wai will come and celebrate.

This picture is the shrine my parents have in their home, with the addition of the blessing table and lantern, set up for he start of the ceremony tomorrow.

More photos tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.